Peach & Jalapeno Jelly

By Mgeorge3

I feel so terrible for the delay in sharing this recipe, but things have been so busy the last few weeks. Two weddings and an out-of-town birthday party have had our weekends full and I just haven’t had time to write-up this post.  We’re back now and no more traveling for a month, then things get a little busy again, but on with the jelly…

Sweet or savory?  Jams and jellies can be both. They do not have to be relegated to breakfast toast and PB&J sandwiches. If that’s all you’ve done with your jelly then you’re missing out on a whole world of flavors. I’ve made several types of jams and jellies now, and while they’ve been yummy they are still the same: sweet.  That is not a bad thing, I love my sweet jams and jellies. But there is more, so much more.

Peach Jalapeno jelly is sweet, but it’s also got a little heat from the jalapeno. I cannot wait to make some fresh dinner rolls and slather this jelly on. Or on a pork chop or chicken breast as a nice sauce put on after its been cooked. Oh, or even with a nice ham.  The possibilities with a savory jelly are vast. Soon as the weather cools down a little and I can turn on my oven, I’ll be baking all kinds of dinner breads to be slathered with this jelly.

When making this jelly,  I have to admit that I made a mistake: I over boiled the pectin and it didn’t set properly. I know better, but as I was bringing it back to a boil I walked away and got distracted and it boiled for far more than the 1 minute it should. That said, I must say I’m not overly disappointed. As I said in my nectarine jam post I like my jams free and loose, not stiff and jello-y. The jelly is so pretty with the tiny pieces of peaches and peppers floating through the mix.

Peach Jalapeno Jelly

Makes 6 cups

  • 4 cups peaches, peeled and finely diced
  • 1 red bell pepper, finely diced
  • 1 green bell pepper finely diced
  • 1 jalapeno, finely diced
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 5 cups sugar
  • 1 box pectin

1) Combine peaches, bell peppers, lemon zest, apple cider vinegar, and pectin in large pot. Turn heat to medium high and stir until a rolling boil is reached.

2) Mix in sugar and return to a rolling boil. Once rolling boil begins, set timer for 1 minute, and stir constantly (Do NOT over boil or jelly won’t set). Remove from heat, and skim off any foam.

3) Ladle jelly into hot sterilized jars, leaving 1/4 inch head space. Process in water bath for 15 minutes.

5 thoughts on “Peach & Jalapeno Jelly

  1. This sounds delicious. I make a jalapeno jelly (jam) that I love to drizzle on just about anything! I wonder if you could use frozen peaches in this? I have frozen Colorado peaches from my niece’s orchard, If you ever have eaten Colorado peaches you will know what I mean when I say sounds YUM!

    1. I debated this exact fact when I was making it. In the end I decided to call it a jelly because of how the consistency turned out. While there are some chunks from the peaches and peppers, it is really more jelly like. The peaches reduced down to make the jelly, with pepper chunks. In my mind when I think of a jam I see something that is thicker than this turned out. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

