Plum Butter

by Mgeorge3

I’ll admit it, this is a hold over from my Plum Crazy post; I felt it deserved its own spotlight. Plum butter is much like apple butter. Cooked down low and slow, simmering off much of the moisture to thicken and reduce the fruit to a spreadable delight.  Using the crock pot it is a fix it and forget it type of project.  It took 18 hours on low, to reduce the 8 pounds of plum puree to the thickness I was looking for.

I gave a jar of this to a friend on Monday. He opened the jar immediately to smell it and I thought his eyes were going to roll back in his head from pure bliss. He declared that if I could make this into a scented candle I’d be a millionaire by year’s end.  Needless to say I was quite pleased by the compliment, but reminded me exactly why I make this stuff. I always make more than I can eat myself, the true joy comes from sharing the bounty. Seeing that joy and excitement on someone’s face from something I made is a great feeling. That is also why I share these with you.

Plum Butter

  • 8 pounds plums
  • 4 cups sugar
  • 2 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp allspice

1) Run the plums through a food mill, or food processor to puree them. You’ll want an applesauce like texture out of them. Pour into crock pot and mix in sugar.

2) Place two table knives across the ends of the crock pot and set the lid on them. This will keep the splattering mess to a minimum, while allowing the steam to escape for the reduction of the plums. Set the crock pot to low for 18 hours, stirring when you think about it.

3) Once plums have reduced by a little over half, and achieved your desired thickness, add cinnamon and allspice. Mix well.

4) Pour into prepared jars, and process for 15 minutes in a boiling water bath.

One thought on “Plum Butter

  1. I love apple butter so I’m sure I would like plum butter. I didn’t know it could be made in a crock pot. Adding cinnamon and allspice must give it an irresistablel aroma!

Leave a Reply

