Doggone Lickin’ Liver Treats

By Rainy

I must really love my dog because the first thing I made with my brand new food processor was doggie treats. When I realized that recipes I want to make are easier with a chopping and grating machine, I included a food processor on my holiday wish list. I am glad I did because it made the dog treats really quick to cook up. I had never made homemade dog treats before but I can see myself doing this simple recipe frequently. I know my pup can certainly appreciate that!

IMG_1802I made a batch of treats in about half an hour, including cooking time. Most of the effort goes into throwing the ingredients into your food processor or blender. The treats bake quickly in a glass pan lined with wax paper. They are cohesive but soft and resemble some rolled dog foods. They are easy to cut or tear into bite sized snacks for your dog.

I taste tested the liver chewies with some canine friends and they are a hit! I have yet to find a dog that isn’t happy to get this smelly little delicacy.

Liver Chewies for Dogs from Home Made

2/3 cup wheat germ

8 ounces chicken or beef livers

1  and 1/8 cup whole wheat flour

3 eggs

IMG_1792     IMG_1791Preheat your oven to 350°F and blend together all the ingredients in a food processor or blender until they are smooth. IMG_1793     IMG_1795Grease an 8 by 8 inch baking dish and then place a piece of wax paper inside the dish. IMG_1796Grease the wax paper and then pour the liver mixture on top and spread it out evenly.  IMG_1797Bake the chewies for 20 minutes in the preheated oven. IMG_1799They will be done cooking when they look dry on top with all the extra moisture gone. IMG_1800Let the pan cool. They should be easily removed from the pan with the wax paper. When the chewies are cool, cut them into bite sized pieces depending on the size of your dog. Keep the leftovers in the refrigerator or freezer.

2 thoughts on “Doggone Lickin’ Liver Treats

  1. Maya looks so cute! Looks eager for her treats! I remember when my Grandparents Crosetti used to cook up beef kidneys on the stove for their cats when I was a kid. Boy, did that smell! But the cats loved it.

Leave a Reply

